Clear the Secure Enclave if you sell or give away a MacBook Pro with Touch Bar

TIL Apple recommends you to clear the Secure Enclave before you sell or give away a MacBook Pro with Touch Bar.

In Apple's guide What to do before you sell or give away your Mac, Apple has an additional step for MacBook Pro's with Touch Bar:

(...) you might want to take this additional step to ensure that all information is cleared from the Secure Enclave in the Touch Bar. (...) Type this command in Terminal:

xartutil --erase-all

Press Return, type yes when asked if you're sure, and then press Return again.

I am not selling or giving away my Mac, but this is good to know. 🤓


SHARE THIS ARTICLE